Free Pattern: Crochet Valentine Heart Earflap Hat

Friends!  Happy 2014!  I hope you’ve been keeping warm this chilly season.  I hear a “polar vortex” crossed through my home country, making it the first and only time I will ever say the weather in Beijing was superior to the weather in the U.S. 🙂

I have been slacking in my pattern sharing, and it’s time to make up for it.  Here is a sweet little hat for Valentine’s Day right around the corner, although in my opinion you don’t need official holidays to bust out the love!

Free Pattern: Crochet Valentine Earflap Hat | Classy Crochet

This hat is based off of Susan B. Anderson’s Sweetheart Hat.  Hers is a knit hat with ombre cotton yarn. I loved the striped effect but 1) I don’t really like crocheting hats in cotton, since they’re not very stretchy, 2) I couldn’t even find the particular pinky yarn the last twenty times I visited Joanns in the U.S., and 3) even if you were to crochet the hat using stripey yarn, the amount of yarn used to crochet means that the hat looks like camouflage, not like nice stripes.

Anyway, summary of story: here is a straightforward striped version. There are no fancy stitches, no tricky techniques.

MATERIALS

I used Lion Brand Pound of Love in these photos (pink and white) and a size H crochet hook.  This specific post made me a hat for about a 9-12 month old, but your gauge and yarn may make you a smaller or larger hat.  For more hat sizing options check out my free Striped Earflap Hat pattern.  As always, feel free to adjust and improvise!

Before you start, check out this post for tips on crocheting stripes in the round – it’ll save you a mound of headaches and keep your yarn nice and untangled.

PATTERN

Row 1: Using white and H hook, ch4, sl st to form loop. Ch2, 12 dc into loop. Sl st to first ch2 (12 st).

Row 2: Switch to pink.  Ch2, dc in same st, 2 dc in each ch around, sl st to last st (24 st).

Row 3: Switch back to white (you will be switching colors every round from here on out).  Ch2, dc in same st, *1 dc in next st, 2 dc in next st* repeat from * around. Sl st to last st (36 st).

Row 4: Ch2, dc in same st, *1 dc in next 2 st, 2 dc in next st* repeat from * around. Sl st to last st (48 st).

Row 5: Ch2, dc in same st, *1 dc in next 4 st, 2 dc in next st* repeat from * around. 1 dc in each of last 4 st. Sl st to last st (54 st).

Row 6-12: Ch2, dc in same st, 1 dc in each st all the way around. Sl st to last st.

Row 13-15: Ch1, sc in same st, 1 sc in each st all the way around, sl st to last st.  You can switch colors one last time on the last row if desired.

I liked starting with white and ending with pink but that’s just how my hat turned out – your hat may require more or less rows.  I don’t think it really matters. 🙂

Earflaps

For the earflaps, I went straight to this amazing crochet heart pattern and whipped out two in pink (thank you, Bella Dia!).  They end up being fairly large, so if you are making a smaller hat, I’d recommend ending the heart body at 15 stitches and finishing the hearts from there.  The only other modification I made was switching to white when I sc around the edge.  When you cut your last pink length, leave a long pink tail to sew the heart onto the hat.

Free Pattern: Crochet Valentine Earflap Hat | Classy Crochet

Finishing

Weave in all the ends of the hat and two hearts.  Using the long pink tail, sew each heart on either side of the hat.  The hearts will seem kind of low on the hat, but remember, the bottoms need to cover the ears.  I like to sew one of the hearts over the back seam – this way it won’t ever end up running right down the forehead if the hat is put on ‘backwards’.

Free Pattern: Crochet Valentine Earflap Hat | Classy Crochet

Braids

Attach two pink (or white, or pink and white, you choose, hooray!) braids to the bottoms of the hearts.  I wrote up an earflap braid tutorial separately for future reference in case you want to add braids to ALL your future hats.

Admire finished hat.  Now go spread the love – follow along with the project gallery on Ravelry!

Free Pattern: Crochet Valentine Earflap Hat | Classy Crochet

57 thoughts on “Free Pattern: Crochet Valentine Heart Earflap Hat

  1. That is an AWESOME idea, making earflaps out of hearts. Ingenious!!! Know offence to Susan, but I like the crochet version better. I saw a hat (pattern here: http://www.repeatcrafterme.com/2013/12/crochet-candy-cane-hat-pattern.html) earlier this year – I mean last year, it’s 2014 now! – but I never loved it enough to make it. I think I’ll combine your two patterns together and then let’s see where I stand!

    Thanks soooooooooooooo much for the FREE pattern, and thanks Susan for providing Jenkeng with the inspiration to make this pattern.
    Carrie

      • Yes i do. I’m sorry i don’t know why I am getting a different amount of stitches. I get 13 stitches for row one. 1 chain and 12 DC. The 2nd row I sl st in chain 2 and DC in same stitch.. Then 2DC in each stitch around. Which equals 1 chain and 25 DC.
        What am I doing wrong? Thanks so much

      • Hi there! Sorry about the confusion. I’ve discovered that sometimes stitch counts vary widely from person to person in terms of what they count as stitches, etc. I apologize for that. If you’re counting your second row as 25 DC + 1 chain, I’d 11dc into row 1 and go from there, to end up with 24 dc for row 2. Does that make sense? At the end of the day, crochet is pretty forgiving and baby heads grow fast, so I wouldn’t stress too much about it if your counts aren’t coming out EXACTLY the same. 🙂 Good luck!

  2. I have the same question as bnichols post on Feb. 9. Looking forward to your answer and really do appreciate your help. Love this hat! I went ahead and made the heart ear flaps and they are soooo cute. Can’t wait to get the hat made and put it all together. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Free Valentine’s Day Crochet Patterns

  4. Love this heart hat! And…Thank you! Thank you! The information on crocheting stripes in the round is a great tip! Wish I had learned of it a few days ago when I spent as much time weaving in ends on a scarf as I did making it! lol Happy crocheting!

  5. love all ur work they are fantastic n I av an idea of wat to do 4 ma baby but d problem am aving is understanding d meaning of sl st dc n d likes thanks

    • Hi! Thanks so much for dropping by and your question. At this time I unfortunately haven’t formatted my free patterns for optimal printing, but I imagine you can copy and paste the text into a separate document and go from there? Thanks for the suggestion, I’ll put it on my to-do. 🙂

    • Hi! depending on your gauge I would do at least 60st with a worsted weight and H or I hook and whether your 2 year old has a huge head. 🙂 But 60 st is about average.

  6. I’m not sure what I’m missing here, but I’ve worked this pattern every which way and starting at end 3, my stitch count is off. I’ve tried counting the ch2 as a stitch, sl st-ing to top of beg ch2 and 1st st of last end. Nothing works. I can’t end with 2dc and 36 stitches.

  7. How did you get the join to be straight? mine always angles.. LOL and I am having trouble printing the pattern. I would love to make one for each of my 6 Granddaughters,.. Thank You

  8. Pingback: Free Patterns – 10 Valentines Day Patterns – Crochet

  9. very cute! I think I might make one up for one of my daycare kiddos – it would match her coat perfectly. I was also thinking about doing regular ear flaps and the sewing the heart on top or maybe in the front. would need to make a smaller heart for the front I think…. where did you find this yarn at? I usually do Hobby Lobbys I love this cotton but I think your right it doesn’t stretch much.

  10. Pingback: Big Valentine’s Day Crochet Hearts Round-up! 20 x Scarves, necklaces, hats, slippers and a mask | Crochet in Paternoster

  11. Pingback: 21 Handmade Valentine's Day Gifts - The Life You Live

  12. I also have tried printing the pattern for this hat and a couple of other ones. I don’t seem to find a “Print” button…where is it or an I missing it? I don’t know how to copy and paste so this does me no good..it would be so much easier and faster with the “print” button. I chose the option to have it emailed but Never got it! So what gives? This is very fast becoming ftrustrating to say the least. H E L P!!! Want to crochet this for a great granddaughter that is on the way. Hope you will be able to help me with this dilema.

    • Hi there! Thank you for your interest. My website doesn’t have a direct “print” button, that is on your browser. Depending on if you are using Internet Explorer or Google Chrome, you can print directly from your page. It would either be “File” – “Print”, or right click your mouse and hit “Print”. If you need help you can tell me which browser you are using and I can help you go from there. Thanks!

      • In the top right hand corner of the browser you’ll see a “button” with three straight lines. Click on that and there should be a print option about halfway down the menu. Once you click on that, your computer’s print screen will come up and you should be able to print from there. I hope that helps and best of luck!

  13. On row 5 im not getting 54dc I end up with 2 xtra stitches I have to sl st over….where am I going wrong? Got the 48 sts rt from row 4 so need help please! Thnx for your free pattern! 🙂

    • I think i might have the solution to row 5 to add up to (54) dc6 2dc around i ended up w 54 so im gonna go to round6 hopefully it comes out hat cute n adorable for girls

  14. I tried to make this hat but, the stitch count is off. I read and re-read the directions and counted over and over. Pulled out rows to see if I did something wrong but, from row 4 to 5 is not a 12 stitch increase as in previous rows. I like the heart ear flaps so I’ll just use a pattern that I’m familiar with and add the hearts. Thank you.

  15. Pingback: Crocheted Buddies Amigurumi Patterns and Crochet Supplies, Free Crochet Patterns for Beginners to Experienced Crocheters | Free Valentine's Day Crochet Patterns - Crocheted Buddies Amigurumi Patterns and Crochet Supplies, Free Crochet Patterns for Be

  16. Thanks for the free pattern but im having a little problem w row 5 it calls for dc4 2dc dc4 supposed to have 4sts left but i get 3 i check n recheck n still end up w 3sts what am i doing hope to hear from u

  17. I’m new to crocheting, I just tried this and followed it very closely, I’m on row 10 and the hat seems to be very wide? and it seems to be bigger then 9-12 months am I missing something ?

  18. cute hat. when switching between colors are you cutting your yarn & sewing in ends or just switching colors & saving till end ? also is this an appropriate pattern for a beginner ?

  19. This hat is so darling!! I’d like to include a link to your website and one photo in a Valentines Day crochet pattern roundup if that’s alright with you. It will be posted later this week on candleinthenight.com. Thanks so much!

  20. Pingback: Pinteresting Projects: free crochet heart tutorials • LoveCrochet Blog

  21. Pingback: Vestidos de ganchillo de bebé. Crochet baby dresses. Baby girl dress. Gali Craft | How To Crochet

Leave a Reply

