I love it when a sale comes together!

On a rare trip to the U.S. to visit my parents, I obviously had to patron a local yarn store in the nearby town.  My mom and I were walking her dog (which was a challenge in and of itself) and on the way back to the car, I hurried into the store under pretense of “buying something for my neighbor” – which I mean, I was, but y’know, if I found something I liked, I can’t be held accountable…

Anyway, imagine to my surprise, and most marvelous delight, a sign advertising a mega sale in honor of the PGA in town (because yarn and golf = inseparable, right?) – 25% off all yarn AND a free skein of yarn per customer from the bargain bin by the front door.  Wahooo!  Who doesn’t love free things?  So of course I perused – quickly, since my mom’s dog is not a patient animal.  I found some Berroco Vintage chunky on sale for 30% off, and quickly rifled through the free basket.  As politely as I could, I asked the owner if it was one per customer.  As the sale was about to end the next day, she shrugged – “free is free, take a few.”  More magical words could not be said to a yarn lover.  So, true to her word, I took a few… less than I would have liked, but there were other people hovering, so I didn’t want to be *that* person.

I emerged with my hasty purchases and triumphantly showed them to my mom, who had been cautioning me against my ever-growing yarn collection since I’d arrived.  I mean, she’s right – I’m living out of two suitcases, one of which was *already* full of yarn I’d brought to work on while I was here.  But, that magical word – “FREE”, and suddenly it’s totally okay.  So okay, in fact, that I returned bright and early the next day.  I asked, again, politely, if it was one per customer (I didn’t want to be presuming) and the ladies, again, shrugged and said “eh, it’s the last day, and you need at least a couple to make something, right?”  I mean it’s like manna from heaven when someone tells you that.  I took my time this time, but pretty soon other customers entered and immediately started snatching up any ‘potentials’ I’d set aside, so I figured I’d better get out while the out was still good.

At the end of the day, I think I still got a pretty awesome stash:

Image

Purchased: Cascade 200 Superwash, Berroco Vintage Chunky, Cascade Pacific Chunky, Plymouth Encore Bulky. Total price = $64 USD.

Image

Pilfered for free: Cascade Eco Duo +, Arauncania Worsted, Berroco Abode, Plymouth Encore Chunky, Cascade Eco Cloud. Total value = $125 USD.

Okay, I realize from this angle that my free yarn all looks kind of poopy and boring… but I was trying to go for “neutral” and “giveaway-able” and the other customers stole my Noro.  Whatevs, I scored 649 yards of Cascade Eco Cloud.  FOR FREE.  Two of the skeins had completely fallen apart in the bin, making them quite unsightly and presumably undesirable, but nothing a true yarn lover can’t fix/twist back into shape in a matter of eight seconds or less.

God bless you, Yarne Source Pittsford.  Drop by if you’re ever in upstate New York and bid them good day.  🙂

3 thoughts on “I love it when a sale comes together!

  1. Jen you are a total junky! My mother would love you, in fact she would join you, would have been right there beside you and at least you make your yarn into things—my mom was the queen of good intentions—but she loved—-loved—loved to look at her collections and think of all the things she would make. I think you got a steal of a deal!

  2. Pingback: Free Pattern: Knit Slouch Flowered Beanie | Classy Crochet

Leave a Reply

