Free Pattern: Diamond Lattice Chain Crochet Infinity Scarf

6/13/2013 UPDATE:

MY FRIENDS!  Thank you for coming by to visit this post!  When I peruse my stats (because I am a statistician, that is what I do), this post always has a bazillion people clicking every day.  I sincerely hope you are all chaining your way to awesome scarves.

That being said, yesterday I stumbled across a free pattern from the always awesome, always famous The Lovely Crow on a “Genius Headband“.  When I clicked on it, I discovered that 1) it was pretty much the same lattice pattern as below, but 2) it has a WAY BETTER finishing technique than mine.  I read the instructions and already I could tell that it creates a seamless, awesome finish instead of the weird lumpy row I was improvising.

So, that being said, please feel free to visit Ravelry and download the pattern yourself for reference.  You’ll need an account, but I have a feeling most of you came here from Ravelry in the first place anyway.  :P  Good luck!

Also, when you’re done, I’d love to see your contributions on our Ravelry project gallery!

*Start original scarf post*

This is my most used go-to scarf pattern.  I love it because 1) it’s super easy, 2) it’s super fast, and 3) it’s super yarn/budget friendly.  I mean, with all these incredible bonuses working in its favor, how can you *not* be inspired to grab a skein (and a half) of bulky yarn and whip one out too?

Diamond Lattice Crochet Scarf Pattern | Classy Crochet

This scarf is great because the bulky yarn and extra long length keeps you super warm, but the open lattice work keeps you from smothering to death.  This is very important because there is simply nothing worse than being simultaneously freezing when it’s cold out, yet having sweat dripping down your chest and feeling like you’re about to choke.  Not that I speak from personal experience.

My favorite bulky yarn is Lion Brand Wool Ease Thick n Quick.  It comes in a variety of really great colors (my personal favorites are citron and lemongrass), it’s that so-helpful blend of acrylic and wool which means it’s cozy and warm like wool but non-scratchy and most importantly machine washable like acrylic, and you can find it everywhere online and in stores and usually for a great deal too.

I can’t even remember which hook I normally use – K, L, or M all work with this pattern.  There’s no gauge, no swatch, no important notes to reference.  And all you have to do is know how to chain.  Wha-?  That’s right, this is tooootally a beginner’s scarf.

Let’s begin!

Diamond Lattice Crochet Scarf Pattern | Classy CrochetWith your hook and yarn, ch 30

Diamond Lattice Crochet Scarf Pattern | Classy Crochet

Row 1: Slip stitch into the 10th chain from the hook.  Ch5, count every 5 chains, slip stitch, repeat to the end.

Diamond Lattice Crochet Scarf Pattern | Classy Crochet

Row 2: ch5, turn, and slip stitch into the middle of the ch5 loop (or third ch).  Repeat: ch5 and slip stitch into the middle chain of each loop.

Diamond Lattice Crochet Scarf Pattern | Classy Crochet

End of row 2.  Ch5, turn, and repeat.  Chain chain chain away until scarf is desired length.

Diamond Lattice Crochet Scarf Pattern | Classy Crochet

I usually make this hat with 60-75% of one skein of Lion Brand Thick n Quick, and use the rest and an additional skein to complete the scarf.  It makes the perfect length, AND it’s budget friendly.  (Who would have thought you could get a nice crocheted hat AND a really long scarf out of only two skeins of bulky yarn?!)  When you reach the length you want, flip the scarf over…

Diamond Lattice Crochet Scarf Pattern | Classy Crochet

…and line up the other edge.  You can either make a loop, or twist it once for a ‘mobius’ effect.  Starting from the blue arrow, insert your hook and sl st both sides together.

Diamond Lattice Crochet Scarf Pattern | Classy Crochet

…like so.  Ch3, then sl st into the top of both loops (the right white arrow on the previous photo).  Ch5, sl st into two loops four times.  Ch3, sl st into both loops at the end (last white arrow on the left).

Diamond Lattice Crochet Scarf Pattern | Classy Crochet

Your finished edge will look like this.  It looks like just another row.

Diamond Lattice Crochet Scarf Pattern | Classy Crochet

It will leave a bit of a bumpy ridge when you lay it flat, but I’ve never had anyone complain about it, and it’s barely noticeable when you put it on.

Diamond Lattice Crochet Scarf Pattern | Classy Crochet

Loop that sucker around your neck and go conquer the world!

11/23/2013: Final addendum.  I’ve had several people ask (very nicely) if they could sell scarves made from this pattern.  Please, feel free.  If you’ve put the time into it, you should reap whatever benefits you want.  I humbly request a link or acknowledgement of some kind to this post, but otherwise, chain away to your heart’s (profitable) content.  Thanks!!

38 thoughts on “Free Pattern: Diamond Lattice Chain Crochet Infinity Scarf

  1. Thank you soooo much for posting this! Easy to follow instructions with great step by step photos. Can’t wait to give this a go on the bus to school.

  2. What a beautiful scarf! This is now on my MUST DO projects.Thanks for the great instructions and photos, I’m a very visual person and your photos are a definite plus for me.
    Thank you, thank you, thank you….

  3. This looks so easy but I must be doing something wrong!! When I chain 30 and slip stitch into the 10th chain, it looks good, as soon as I count 5 more and slip stitch, something seems terribly wrong! If I go 5 more, there is most definitely something awry! What could I be doing wrong? I am using the same yarn the pattern calls for.

  4. Hi Brianne– Thanks for your feedback. I realize my post wasn’t 100% clear: you need to ch5 before sl st into every 5 chs. So, the directions go: ch30, sl st into 10th ch. *CH5*, THEN sl st into 5th ch. Does that make sense? I noticed this discrepancy when I was teaching my 9 year niece last week how to make this. :) Good luck and if you still have questions, feel free to email me at classycrochet@gmail.com!

  5. Hi Sara – Sorry this has taken so long to get back to you! The post says you can use any weight yarn you want and it’s true! I’ve made this scarf with Lion Brand Homespun and a size J hook and just increased the number of ‘chain loops’ from 5 to 7. You can use a laceweight yarn if you wanted, you’d probably just have to increase the chain loops again. Have fun and I can’t wait to see your results!

  6. I love this! I just taught my 10 year old to crochet a week ago and I am going to give this pattern to her as her first project!

    • Super! I was teaching my 9 year old niece how to crochet a few months ago, and this was the project I gave her. Hopefully she actually made something of it. =D Good luck and thanks for dropping by!

  7. Thank you so much for posting this! I do homemade Christmas gifts each year and I’m always looking for new ideas! The ladies in my family will look fab this year!

  8. Pingback: Impromptu Color block Infinity Scarf | One Stitch Two Stitch

  9. WHAT A FANTASTIC PATTERN. THANKS. I CAN SEE ME MAKING LOTS OF THESE SCARVES. SO QUICK AND SIMPLE TI MAKE BUT THEY LOOK AMAZING. I ALSO MADE SOME HAND WARMERS USING THE SAME TECHNIQUE.

  10. I just made this in a really super gorgeous dark purple using only 1 ball of yarn and it turned out about 40 inches long, perfect for my 8 year old niece! I really love this pattern! The diamonds create such a beautiful pattern. Thank you so much!

  11. I just made this scarf. My niece finally told me that for Christmas (a week from now) that she would like me to make her a few scarfs. After many hours of googling for infinity scarf patterns that she might like, I found this one. I finished it in about 6 hours, since I was interrupted many times. It turned out beautiful, and now I have decided that after I am done making her gifts, I will be making a few of these for myself. It is so simple to make without sacrificing a creative and beautiful look!!! Thanks for sharing this pattern. I am sure once everyone sees the one I made for her they will be asking me to make them some. :-)

    • Honestly it doesn’t really matter, as long as you’re consistent throughout the scarf. And even if you aren’t, the stitches don’t really show. It’s a very forgiving pattern. :) Have fun and thanks for dropping by!

  12. Thank you for this fun and easy-to-follow pattern. I posted my finished scarf to Pinterest last night and this morning (while I was at work!) I realized that I failed to give you proper credit!! My apologies for that lapse; I did go back and add this url and your name to my post. Love this scarf!! It’s the only pattern I’ve been able to follow without any assistance.

  13. I’ve just found this pattern on pinterest Had the right yard and started one as a gift. It is LOVELY……wished I had it around the holidays it would have been my gifting favorite. Thank u for sharing your creativity…
    Claudette

  14. Just finished this scarf and it was so easy and looks wonderful. I used loops and threads, country loom 5oz and it finished up no time at all. Very fancy look to it and a great quick gift to make. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

